Addictions-Illness

I wrote a blog a short time ago wherein I made a statement that was a bit all-inclusive and I would like to make a formal apology for that.  My statement was regarding the general state of being of ‘alcoholics’.  Not all alcoholics are the same, and for that I apologize for generalizing.  However, I do want to add that alcoholism is an addiction, and an illness.  The illness of alcoholism does have one common characteristic that tends to ring true for all alcoholics, and that is ‘whatever it is that is your worst fear, that part of the self that would like to hide the most, those deepest darkest parts…’ – these are what come through to the surface of an alcoholic when in that ‘state’.  This is different for everyone, it may be really nasty or merely running away from past nightmares, or all of the above, so to speak.  Not all alcoholics are bad people, they just have bad experiences.  But don’t all humans have bad experiences?  It is how one handles them that counts, alcoholism is only one of many addictive ways.  My apologies for generalizing, I will restate here that my reference to these two alcoholics in particular, they are very sick, and the manner in which they have chosen to live their lives does not resonate in the slightest with ours.  ‘Nuff said.

Author: Elena in the Jungle

Living a very simple reclusive and self sustaining life way out in the jungle with my husband, growing as much food and medicinal plants as possible, I find my freedom and sanctuary in the amazing and spectacular array of life that surrounds me, gifts of Gaia, most especially while traveling around on my horse.

Leave a Reply

