the Rain…

the rainy season has officially begun, after many months of doubt…and dryness…some concerns. the thunder in the distance, the flashes of light in the darkness of midnight, the raindrops singing their song on the tin roof. I can hear the individual drops now, even though there are many, however in the past few days I could not even hear my own thoughts for stretches of time! the din the downpour creates is phenomenal, the amount of water that can accumulate in such a few moments is almost unbelievable, except as it is witnessed by my own eyes. the rivers and creeks have risen, access to our home is now limited for the duration of this season, we must think quickly and move at the ‘right’ times to get out, and especially to get back in. our provisions have been stocked, water is not a problem…LOL…the critters of the jungle are looking for a dry spot, shake your pants and check the sheets! one never knows…we share this magic space on earth with many other creatures, of an amazing plethora of shapes and sizes. for now I listen to the rain, in the deep blackness of the night, counting my blessings for having the privilege to live here and experience this. the quiet and peacefulness, the solitude and tranquility that can become an uproar in a jungle moment, all gifts of the One Source. Nurturing. Forgiving and non-forgiving. Eternal.

Thank You Gaia.

Author: Elena in the Jungle

Living a very simple reclusive and self sustaining life way out in the jungle with my husband, growing as much food and medicinal plants as possible, I find my freedom and sanctuary in the amazing and spectacular array of life that surrounds me, gifts of Gaia, most especially while traveling around on my horse.

Leave a Reply

